Alpha Chi Events, Alpha Chi Sisterhood, Why I'm an Alpha Chi Wednesdays

Laynie Bear- Why I’m an Alpha Chi Wednesday

Mail Attachment
Laynie, PC ’13 (R)

As a Fort Worth local I grew up around TCU and I knew that this school and this city would always be home. Even though I grew up here, I came to TCU not knowing anyone. My senior year of high school I had a student teacher who was a senior Alpha Chi at TCU. I became quick friends with this wonderful lady and I loved hearing about her sorority experience. This definitely made Alpha Chi stand out to me before even meeting the girls myself. Going through recruitment was originally just a way for me to meet people, but it quickly became much more than that. Each day in the Alpha Chi Omega house during recruitment felt more and more like where I belonged. Opening up my bid card to Alpha Chi Omega and running into the arms of my new sisters was probably one of the best feelings in the world. I immediately felt at home and welcomed by all of these new faces in Alpha Chi.

This sorority has been so much more to me than socials and t-shirts. Alpha Chi has given me a home away from home, allowed me to meet my absolute best friends, and also allowed me to devote my time to helping out the community and especially the Tarrant County Women’s Center. It has warmed my heart to actually see the hard work that we put into our philanthropy come to life.

I am an Alpha Chi because of my two best friends, whom I couldn’t imagine my life without now. I am an Alpha Chi because of my former suite-mate and now roommate who has somehow put up with living with me yet again. I am an Alpha Chi because of my big, who has become one of my best friends and my biggest mentor for nursing. I am an Alpha Chi because of my grandbig, who was the best New Member Educator and helped my entire pledge class and I grow. I am an Alpha Chi because of Haley Harris, whom I am so glad I got to meet as she student taught and now share the bond of Alpha Chi Omega with. I am an Alpha Chi because of the amazing two hundred plus sisters I am constantly surrounded with. Lastly, I am an Alpha Chi because I couldn’t image being more at home anywhere else.

-Laynie Bear, PC ’13

Leave a Reply

