Alpha Chi Mixers and Formals

Senior Spotlight: Taylor Meneley

Name: Taylor Meneley

Hometown: Boulder, CO

Major: Secondary Education-Social Studies

Expected Graduation Date: December 2015

Favorite Alpha Chi Memory:

My junior year I was still living in the house. It was nearing the end of my term serving as the estate coordinator–some people refer to the job as a house manager, but it’s so much more than that, so the job deserves an official title. I had come up with this crazy idea of a “Housegiving.” When I ran it by the house, everyone jumped on board. We set a date and each room was going to bring a dish. I was not expecting it to actually look like a Thanksgiving meal, but it did! We all sat on the floor in the foyer, in a circle and ate dinner together. We took turns going around saying what we were thankful for and our favorite memories from the house. As cheesy as it sounds, it’s something I will never forget and always cherish.

Funniest memory from living in the house: 

I have so many that it’s hard to pick one. There were numerous nights in the chapter room that turned into funny late nights. One night that stands out was our last night in the house sophomore year. We decided that to celebrate the last night of all of us living under one roof, we were going to drag our mattress’ to the TV room and have a big sleepover. Well, on our way down we came to the conclusion that mattress surfing down stairs was more efficient and significantly more fun than carrying them down.

Did being on exec impact your experience in Alpha Chi?

Yes, in every way possible. I met my best friends on exec. Our board was the most supportive group and those women taught me so much about what it means to be a leader and a friend. I met my junior year roommate, Katy, through exec. I never thought I could miss sharing a box with someone, but going to bed without our life chats just isn’t the same. If you asked me my freshman year if I would want to be on exec or live in the house, I probably would have said no, because I didn’t want to live in the house. Had I followed that rash and miscalculated decision, my college years would have been forever altered. Serving on exec and living in the house for two-years is one of my most meaningful memories and experiences that I’m leaving with.

Do you have any fun nicknames?

My nickname is “dad.” While serving as the estate coordinator, it was quickly realized that I was not a “house mom” type. Not that I wasn’t nurturing but I was the designated handy man. If the TV wasn’t working, I was the one who was called to fix it. It was jokingly said one night and it stuck.

What advice would you give a new member?

You get what you give. This chapter and the sisterhood that comes from it is so special. I know that I’m not walking through life alone regardless of where it takes me because I’ll always have my sisters. College is stressful, sometimes it seems like you just don’t have time for sisterhood events. I challenge you to go against that. Plan sisterhood dinners into your study schedule. Because when you’re in my shoes four years from now, you’ll either be wishing you attended more or so thankful for the memories you have from them. And most importantly, live in the house. You have the rest of your life to have your own room and kitchen.

Leave a Reply

